Governance and Committees


NSW Therapeutic Advisory Group was initially established in 1988. In 1994, NSW TAG was incorporated as a not-for-profit independent association. The association receives its core funding from NSW Health. NSW TAG provides six-monthly reports of its activities to the Clinical Excellence Commission, who act as the NSW Health managers of the core funding contract.

NSW TAG’s members are clinical pharmacologists, pharmacists and other clinicians from NSW public hospitals and affiliated academic units. Affiliate membership is also available to interstate colleagues and private hospitals. The membership is organised into two broad groups: TAG General members who represent the larger public teaching hospitals in NSW and TAGNet members who represent smaller metropolitan, regional and remote NSW public hospitals.  Meetings for TAG General and TAGNet members are held bi-monthly.

The Management Board has seven members and is elected each year at the Annual General Meeting. It meets four times a year. It is responsible for governing NSW TAG and ensuring it meets its functions and responsibilities. There is a Finance Sub-Committee, which is chaired by the NSW TAG Treasurer. The Sub-Committee meets quarterly and provides the Management Board with assistance, advice and oversight with respect to NSW TAG’s financial reporting, risk and control and external audit functions.

In order to achieve its objectives, NSW TAG has a number of Working Committees and Discussion Groups including:

  • NSW TAG Editorial Committee
  • NSW TAG High Costs Medicines Working Group
  • medSMART Group

NSW TAG projects or program initiatives are informed by expert advisory committees with oversight managed by the relevant NSW TAG Working Committees.

NSW TAG is a member of the Council of Australian Therapeutic Advisory Groups (CATAG). NSW TAG also manages the business operations of CATAG.

NSW TAG is based in Darlinghurst, Sydney and is managed on a day-to-day basis by the Executive Officer, Dr Sasha Bennett.


Our Committees

Membership of NSW TAG Management Board

Professor Christopher Liddle (Chair), Chair Western Sydney LHD Drug and Therapeutics Committee

Professor Sarah Hilmer (Vice Chair), Deputy Chair, Northern Sydney and Ryde LHD Drug and Therapeutics Committee

Ms Terry Melocco (Treasurer), Director of Pharmacy, St Vincent’s Public Hospital, Sydney

Professor Andrew Mc Lachlan (Secretary), Chair, Concord Hospital Drug and Therapeutics Committee

Professor Joanne Brien, Professor of Clinical Pharmacy, The University of Sydney

Ms Rosemary Burke, Pharmacy Director, Sydney Local Health District

A/Professor Madlen Gazarian, Clinical pharmacologist and paediatric rheumatologist


Membership of the NSW TAG Finance Committee

Ms Terry Melocco (Chair), Treasurer NSW TAG Management Board

Members: Prof Christopher Liddle, Chair NSW TAG Management Board

Dr Sasha Bennett, NSW TAG Executive Officer

Ms Megan Cetinic, NSW TAG Office Manager

Mr Murray Mansell, Chief Financial Officer, Australian Healthcare & Hospitals Association


TAG General Membership

Professor Christopher Liddle (Chair)

DTC Chairs and Secretaries (or their delegates) of principal referral, paediatric specialist and tertiary referral hospitals in NSW


TAGNet Membership

Professor Ian Whyte (Chair), Director, Clinical Toxicology & Pharmacology, Calvary Mater Newcastle

DTC Chairs and Secretaries (or their delegates) of major and district hospitals in NSW


Membership of NSW TAG Editorial Committee

Professor Sarah Hilmer (Chair)

Ms Elizabeth Anderson, Westmean Medicines Information Service, Westmead Hospital

Dr Sasha Bennett, Executive Officer, NSW TAG

Ms Christine Coorey, Senior clinical pharmacist, Westmead Hospital, Sydney

A/Professor Madlen Gazarian, Clinical pharmacologist and paediatric rheumatologist

Ms Michelle Jenkins, Deputy Director of Pharmacy, John Hunter Hospital

Mr Russell Levy, Director of Pharmacy, Royal prince Alfred Hospital, Sydney

Ms Felicity Prior, Director, Hunter Drug Information Services

Ms Leone Snowden, NSW Medicines Information Centre

Ms Anne Steffensen, Deputy of Director, Prince of Wales Hospital